244 Birthday of United States of America

Today is July 4.  Being a very patriotic person, I enjoy this holiday.    I have been very fortunate to work all my life, save, and retire to enjoy these golden years.   But it wasn't always so good.   At one point I lived in housing that had no plumbing.  Sewage ran out underneath  the pipes and laid on the ground.   But through hard work, days nights, going to work or school nights paid off.  I was able to get my daughters out of that deplorable situation and start making something of myself and to dream big for their futures.
      Today, after 35 years of teaching and 13 years working in the medical field, I have I buried one child but put the other through college (with no loans) bought a house, or 2, and made my own future.
     Yes, I love my country, and it still offers opportunities for those who are willing to work for it, willing to make the hard decisions, to dream big, and follow that path with choices that lead down that road.
       The US is having a hard and violent time right now, but I still believe in the American dream......    easier for some than others, for sure........     But I pulled myself out of the pits and did it, all myself.    So can anyone else, who really wants it and is willing to do what they need to?  I think so.
God Bless America!
        Todays Blip is the Betsy Ross Flag,  the flag of the American Revolution,  and looking up my street, where my neighbors and I have decorated our front yard.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.