LesTension

By LesTension

BREAKFAST TIME

Early Sunday morning I was at the track shooting Shelby Club races...very hot...very sticky. As the cars were speeding past me I saw movement out of the corner of my eye to the driver's right side of the track. I turned my head and saw a red-tailed Hawk make a kill but I wasn't fast enough moving the camera to catch it. But I did catch him taking off with breakfast in his beak. From the short tail on his meal it was most likely a Meadow Vole. He then flew to the top of a pole and had his feast. He was lucky to have come at the vole from the north...had he come from the east he might have been hit by a speeding Mustang.

The previous evening I was shooting Fire Fest....the 4th of July fireworks extravaganza. Most such celebrations in the county were canceled due to the virus but the track is very big (640 acres) so there was plenty of space for patrons to spread out and practice their social distancing. Kudos to Road America for stepping up and filling a void. I've added one Fire Fest shot for you amusement in the extra photos.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.