Tessa and the Farm

Today's the day ………………………. to play

Tessa asked me today if she could play with the farm - and I said "Yes" without hesitation.  Of course you did, I hear you say - she's your granddaughter.  But it's not so simple as that.

You see, the farm and all its animals and other stuff actually belongs to me.  I played with it when I was a girl, which makes it somewhere in the region of sixty years old.  I spent all my pocket money for a long time, buying those animals.  Or, better still, sometimes my Dad would buy me something when he was working away from home - and then give it to me on his return.  I spent hours playing with that farm.

Somehow the farm has always been with me through life - packed up in the attic in which ever house we lived.  My own boys were never that interested in it - which is fine - they had their own things to play with.  And although our house was often full of other children, somehow I never felt there was anyone to whom it would be as important as it had been to me.  Until Tessa.

I sat and watched her today playing with it - doing all the things I used to do - all those years ago.  When she lined up all the horses and did a sort of inventory of how many brown ones, black ones, white ones, foals - my heart just sang!

The years just melted away …………………. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.