Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

I really like this one of Mary and Fi today, where they're discussing routes at Pleasley Vale crag. They'd ventured along to the overgrown part and, what with knee high brambles and nettles, it was impossible, but we'd had a lovely day on the good bit of the crag. I was not on fire today, but Mary was fabulous!

Climbing and I have a weird relationship. I love it when I'm climbing well, feeling in tune with the rock (as Johnny Dawes says) and I can move as in my mind's eye, smoothly and gracefully. But I also really like it when it's a battle, when I'm struggling to hold on (on a rope, not leading obviously) when all my body and mind are focussed on staying on the rock at the least, and moving upwards if possible. Even if I don't win and I come off, I love the exertion and exhaustion that I feel. Some of you will know the feeling, some of you won't, but believe me, it's worth it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.