CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Looking for the kingfisher by the river Frome

As we watched the birds yesterday at Frampton Court Lake I was chatting to Helena's sister Kate, and I mentioned I'd seen a kingfisher there, amongst many other birds. She exclaimed that she'd never seen one and had always wanted to. I said that I could take her to where I'd seen kingfishers many times before and she might be able to see one herself, but no promises!

Today I took her down to our local river where I know there is a kingfisher nest. When we got there the river Frome was showing signs of having recently been in spate as there were branches of trees lying in the river.  A bit further downstream a large tree had fallen down across the river and altered the pattern of flow.

I pointed out where the nest was somewhat lurking behind some leaves of a holly bush. I saw there were tell tale signs of small trails of white white excrement below the nest which was encouraging.

We sat on the opposite bank and listened to the bustling brook. Suddenly I saw one and tried to point it out to Kate and I think she glimpsed its blue sheen briefly. We then talked about whether it might return and before long it, or maybe be one of several flew back and quickly away again. Kate was delighted but became even more so as we saw a kingfisher at least eight more times, flying back and forth and even appearing to go into the nest. 

it was very dark and now looking at some of my snaps of the nbird, I can see I caught it behind the holly leaves without knowing it at the time. I just had a suspicion.

I'm so glad I could deliver a kingfisher on cue, but really I just seeing them for myself anyway. This was the first time I'd been to this spot since lockdown began, but I'll have to come back, maybe with my good flash unit.

I took this picture of the stream about twenty yards downstream. I first saw the kingfisher flying upstream from the bend where the tree trunk has fallen. Whilst it was flying about I tried to grab some shots. This one only just caught its flight up from the rocks by the water's edge onto a small branch overhanging the river. You might just be able to make out the brilliant blue shape. It isn't great, and mine seldom are, but it is of the day Kate saw her first kingfisher!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.