The spider's eggs have hatched

I planted this celeriac plant last year and somehow it got left in a large pot to grow. I enjoyed seeing its life cycle which normally wouldn't be possible when one eats the plant. For some weeks I've been admiring its tiny but very pretty flowers spreading out in abundance.

A day or so ago I got my macro lens out and tried to take some close-ups of the very small flowers. But with the windy conditions I couldn't get a good result. However I did notice a tiny spider living an the base of one of the clusters of flowers at the top of the plant. I concentrated on watching and filming it rebuilding its web and running about amingst the flowers and the bases of their stalks.

Today I had a few minutes waiting for my coffee to percolate so went pout to look for the spider again. It was even windier and I didn't see the spider for a long time. Then I spotted this dark cluster near to the spiders web and realised they were eggs that had hatched. There are still a few eggs amongst these tiny creatures which haven't hatched yet.

I must say that the spider's body was probably only about 4mm in diameter, and about the same size as one of the individual flowers. These babies are about the same size. I'll try and back blip the spider in due course, in case I don't see it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.