Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Chill Out Lounge

[For the second time - as my web browser crashed & I lost everything!!]

Today has been a really varied day. It started off with dropping the things we didn't sell at Friday's car boot sale to the Thrift Centre, then G collected a box of school books from the basement of the bookshop - which was er... interesting!

That done, we went to IKEA to look for bookcases and other bits we've identified we could do with. We then trekked across town to Times Square Mall to visit this place - Chill Out Lounge! It's really an ice café that's been around a while but our first visit. All fittings and fixtures made of ice - tt was minus 6 deg C in there. You get kitted up with a coat, gloves, a hat (and boots if you need them). Why didn't I have this stuff in December?! I was actually nicely warm apart from my jeans being cold. A hot drink is included in the price and you can stay as long as you can bear the cold the gear!

Got home via the House of Prose - the only bookshop here that buys and sells second-hand books so ALL boxes from Friday now dealt with. Yipee! A BBQ on our balcony was the next item on the agenda, but it didn't seem worth lighting the coal for 4 burgers...

So many people I know have a birthday today, but for me, the 5th of February will always be remembered as the day I heard Karen Carpenter died - in 1983. I remember the day so well. I was 15 and ice skating with friends. Ironically, I heard "Only Yesterday" today! I still think she has one of the most recognisable voices EVER and I always turn the volume up when a Carpenters song plays on the radio! It seems we'd never heard of anorexia nervosa before then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.