ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Behind the Mask

On the off chance that I might want to go shopping in Scotland next week, I thought I’d better see what we had in the house in the way of a mask.
This carnival mask we picked up in Nice many years ago would appear to fulfil all the necessary criteria (well, it would if it was full size!)
Still not sure about the whole mask thing. If they are to be mandatory then surely they need to conform to a standard to ensure maximum effectiveness. At the moment I’m seeing every interpretation of “face covering” going, from a scarf wrapped loosely around the head, to a full on paint sprayers mask. Most common though seems to be a grubby “reusable” mask that is pulled up and down like a yo-yo as the user goes in and out of shops. One feels that any effectiveness it may have had when first worn has long since disappeared.
If mask wearing outside the home becomes a legal requirement - and I pray it doesn’t get to that stage - then the government needs to specify a standard and ensure that all masks sold not only meet that standard but come with clear instructions as to how they should be used. This is no different to any other compulsory safety equipment. I have a choice of brands and styles for my motorcycle crash helmet, but I know whichever one I choose, it will give a specified and tested level of protection. Surely the same should be true of masks designed to protect us from Covid.
I doubt that will ever happen though, as to introduce such a measure is tantamount to the government admitting the virus cannot be defeated. As is the British way, we will all just muddle along with a confusing mix of “guidelines” and “rules” which are mainly observed but not really understood.
Personally speaking, if I find myself in an environment where I need to wear a mask - or feel that to do so is the only safe option - then I shall make sure it is a high quality, single use type that will be safely discarded immediately after use. To do anything less would surely just be increasing the risk of infection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.