ruth_cph

By ruth_mottram

Hunting for noctilucent clouds

There have been reports of noctilucent clouds the last weeks but I haven't spotted any yet this year, and tonight was again a go-to thanks to the low cloud over the city.

They are so beautiful and frankly a bit unnerving that I always watch out for them at this time of year.

I find it astonishing they were only discovered in the 1880s, coincidentally the time the industrial revolution started to get going. And as our emissions have risen, so has the occurrence of noctilucent clouds, the highest clouds in the atmosphere, about 80km above earth's surface. I mean it's not conclusive, but it's a hell of a coincidence...

The Wikipedia page is a good explanation if you're that way inclined... https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noctilucent_cloud

I got a few glimpses above the clouds, and I'm pretty sure they are there but I'm too tired after working all day to stay up and wait.

So today's blip will instead be the rather moody and changing sky I did manage to snap.at 11.30 this evening...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.