ruth_cph

By ruth_mottram

Stokrose paradis

Hollyhocks (stokrose) are one of my favourites, even if they are a bit old fashioned.

These are in one of our neighbours gardens, I admire them every year, they seem to grow out of the pavement cracks. We planted our first this year but so far no flowers, I'm not quite sure what we're doing wrong...

In Danish there is the expression "stokrose paradis", which I think is more or less like the English bed of roses. In any case, the hollyhocks are pretty common around Copenhagen and other Danish towns and I love them all the more for it.

I quickly snapped this with my phone camera and the colours haven't really come out in their true the. It's always a bit tricky with the darker colours for some reason..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.