Sunseeker

By Sunseeker

Swallowtail on bougainvillea

There have been a lot of swallowtails in the garden in the last few days but too fast moving to capture, so I was pleased when one or two of them started to focus on the top bit of the bougainvillea which means I could photograph them from pretty close from the balcony. This one was a bit the worse for wear - it had lost one of its tails completely and quite a chunk out of one wing, but was still very handsome and didn't seem to have any difficulty flying and perching to drink nectar in quite a strong wind. I later spotted a very beautiful swallowtail caterpillar (black and green stripes with orange spots in every other black stripe) on the parsley down in the vegetable garden. I've got plenty of parsley so I'm happy to contribute some to the swallowtail life cycle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.