mind the gap

As of yesterday, travel restrictions for leisure activities were finally lifted in Dumfries and Galloway. I do want to go to the beach quite soon, but for now I'm content to carry on exploring my local area.

This morning's walk was up in Glenkiln, starting from the reservoir and taking the path across to Henry Moore's statue. Back in the day, there were more statues, most by Rodin and Henry Moore, but after a theft, they were removed for safekeeping and only two remain - this one and the Glenkiln Cross. You can see them all here.

My favourite was always "Visitation" by Jacob Epstein, not for the sculpture itself but for its setting in a little copse of Scots Pines. It was strange to stand there today and feel the absence of the statue. It made me think about all the things we have lost during this time of coronavirus but also of what will fill those gaps. Through the trees in the copse, I could see the summit of Bishop Forest Hill, a place I had never been on my own until last month, but now a place I can walk to and where I feel happy.

I just happened to re-read this poem today which I had copied into a notebook, so thought I would share it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.