About to turn

By jMcLean

Loudoun

A landmark day - the county's Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to remove the confederate statue that's stood in front of the old courthouse since the early 1900s. How the tide has turned! Earlier attempts did not succeed. While there have been no attempts to topple it physically, as far as I know, the state earlier this year granted localities the power to decide the fate of their own statues. And public opinion, while mixed, was pretty clear overall.

Partly I took this photo today to remind myself of this (I think very positive) change, because I doubt the statue will still be in place when we return in a couple weeks. We're rushing around taking care of things before we leave, and I'm slipping on commenting, but I'll get there. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.