Jungle creeper

Our next door neighbour has never tended his garden. At this time of year some of the plants that live there try to escape over the wall to move in with us. Here is one that I spotted climbing over the wall when Mr hazelh and I enjoyed our mid-morning bananas in the sunshine today.

Today was significant* because Lyndsey and Leo were both conferred their PhDs in absentia. Due to the pandemic, we could not celebrate their graduation with them. Instead I sent them both an email with messages from nearly everyone in our research group. Lyndsey was particularly delighted with this, and posted a screenshot of the message at the end of a long blog post about her experience as a PhD student.

I would much rather have been celebrating the success of my doctoral students with them in person today instead of fielding email and writing a grant proposal.

*The other interesting thing that happened today was that I had to give my date of birth to a delivery man on receipt of an unexpected parcel from Amazon. This was a present from the person who sent me news of my success two weeks ago.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.