What A Wonderful World (Ad.)

Social commentators often write about how users of social media have a tendency to curate fictionalised versions of themselves, avatars of perfection in which they appear to look amazing and to be doing amazing things 24/7. A serious consequence of this is that some people, believing these avatars of perfection to be accurate representations of everybody else's life, look at their own less-than-perfect lives and feel entirely inadequate. What is wrong with me? Why don't I have hundreds of friends? Why aren't I gorgeous? Why aren't I happy? Some people can even become suicidal.

I was never really convinced about this. I always believed that everybody always told the truth about their lives, warts and all. That was until I tried Google's new AmazingLife filter app. It's incredible. Just apply the AmazingLife filter to any image or text and it is instantly transformed into something sparkling, vibrant and ..... AMAZING!!!!

The image above has the AmazingLife filter on. The extra has the AmazingLife filter off.  

Now let's see how it works on text.

AmazingLife filter on
A fantastic 22 kilometres run this afternoon. Beautiful weather. I feel great, such a runner's high you wouldn't believe.

Shine On Me - John Foxx

AmazingLife filter off
Why the hell do I do this to myself? 22 kilometres of misery, dragging my sorry ass through the wind and the rain in a futile attempt to fill this void called life with some semblance of structure and meaning in this ridiculous sado-masochistic hobby called running.

I Want To Be A Machine - John Foxx and Ultravox

"It really works." - Alexei Sayle

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.