fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Walking

Now shall I walk
or shall I ride?
"Ride," Pleasure said:
"Walk," Joy replied.

(W.H. Davies)


KaliBug's February Challenge: 5) A Life Goal

Most people who have followed my blip journal very much know that I haven't been working for the last four-and-a-bit years as I have something like Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, although I don't have an official diagnosis for the symptoms I have. This means that I have done very little in the way of activity over those years. My muscles will keep me standing up and not much more, and I have very little energy.

When I do get out and about I usually end up sleeping for hours or days afterwards. On Saturday for example, I had about 1 hour walking at a very slow pace around Hardwick Park, stopping every few minutes to take photographs. I can't have walked more than half a mile. In the evening I went to the Candlemas service at the Cathedral. On Sunday I managed to drag myself out of bed at 5:30pm.

I really miss walking. I've never been super-fit or very serious about it, but I miss it all the same. I've gone on short walking holidays/ weekends in the past, gone out for the day with friends or on my own. Never more than about twelve miles in a day, abut usually much less! I'd be very happy if I could just get to the point where I could walk four miles without being wiped out. I'm sure I will do one day, but it feels a bit far off at the moment!

Walking tunefully :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.