Message from beyond the grave

My grandma died many many moons ago however I’ve only just now started going through boxes of old books that belong to her. Many of the books are educational as she used to be a school teacher. Some of the books have already been gratefully received by a primary school.

I’m going to donate quite a few to charity although I understand that many charity shops are either not open or accepting donations right now, so the books will have to go into storage. I’m trying to get things a bit tidier before Mr H returns from Ireland next week.

This message I found in a book made me smile last night as I knew my grandma very well and this is soooo her. I can imagine her writing this to stick in one of the books so as to warn whoever was sorting them (after her death) not to just chuck them in a skip.

I guess the rise of online market places like eBay mean that the value of books and the rarity of books is something that is far more measurable than in pre- internet days. It also possibly keeps the prices down.

Thinking about people writing letters for the future made me smile as I thought back to a boyfriend I had when I was at high school. He was a very funny character (more in the hilarious way!) The day before the summer holidays he showed me all these letters he’d spent ages writing which he’d placed around his bedroom, basically requesting that potential burglars didn’t take specific toys and giving reasons why they shouldn’t. His aim was to charm them but he was likely pointing out their collectibility. I think the toys in question were some kind of robotic machines called Zoids (but I may have made that up).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.