End of an era

Once upon a time- six months ago- the Royal hotel, was at the heart of Bridge of Allan. 
It was the place for wedding receptions, celebrations, Christmas dinners and funeral teas. (Even I had it listed in my will as the place for my funeral tea).

Now it’s closed and it will be converted into flats.

I had a stroll through the town early this evening. Normally the place would be buzzing with cafes, bars and restaurants full on a Friday evening. Well there were lots of people around but it was a very different scene .
Masks were  everywhere - new Government order- never seen so many and I felt conspicuous for not wearing mine though I was not going into any of the food takeaways.
These are booming and the smell of pizzas wafted through the streets with folk laden down with cardboard boxes.
Only the Westerton pub and the trendy new Friends café – see extra- were open with people sitting outside.
Welcome to the “new normal”.
 
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.