The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The Canal at Wallbridge, Stroud

This morning I slept in. When I came around from a complicated dream about being stuck in a loft because the ladder had broken, I remembered that it was Friday, and I had nothing planned. I knew I was in lockdown, but I had forgotten about the reason until I stumbled to the bathroom and heard Steve's radio burbling about 40,000 cases. That shocked me awake.

For posterity I ought to record that today I learned how to make porridge in the microwave. It's not quicker than the hob, but tastes just as good, and there's no pan to wash!

Did some laundry, then remembered I had two drawers from a large work table to treat with a no-smell woodworm treatment. My sister and I had already treated the table. Annoyingly, the liquid ran out after the first drawer!

I walked to town to meet my friend J. The Merrywalks shopping centre has a new veg stall, so we investigated that. There is also a noodle bar. Mostly the place is still a building site but it now shows potential. We failed to find the right woodworm treatment in Wilko so we walked to Homebase. All too expensive there, but we had a walk. Back on the edge of town, we spotted that the canal info centre was open again, so went up for a chat and a takeaway drink, which we drank on the grass by the canal, while K watched fish swimming about in the canal. We were about 100 yards from where the photo was taken. The building with the rainbow is owned by Dale Vince, who owns Ecotricity, the green energy company based in Stroud. I think he puts footballers up in this building, as he also bought Forest Green Rovers, the local football team, a few years ago, and has invested in it. Poor guys, I wonder if they enjoyed living in a former building society's HQ during lockdown. I'd find it frustrating...

We walked along the canal to Waitrose, where I bought some sunflowers and other reduced price goods. Walked home, also along the canal. When I got home, Steve seemed a little distracted, and told me that while he'd been out driving, a small stone had hit his windscreen and shattered it. Ouch. He said he could still hear the sound ringing in his ears.

Later, I made fish chowder for supper, and we watched Vera. I still have to put sheets back on the bed. None of the consignments of cards I ordered has arrived. Neither has the new bird feeder bracket.

New normal?
New boring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.