All the fun of the fair

At the end of the week the sun poked through for long enough to permit a post-dinner stroll on the promenade. As we exited the pub after our burgers a gull was carting off a pizza crust so big it could have dislocated its beak.

The light at the deserted funfair was nice but it was too bracing to remain outside for long. Hunstanton is much quieter than I imagined and I can only assume that when school holidays officially begin, the crowds will pour in. I also assume millions of British parents who are either furloughed or working remotely are desperately counting down the days until the official period of homeschooling ends. At the same time they’ll be wondering how to keep kids occupied whilst the demands of their jobs presumably remain unchanged. Whilst my coronavirus limbo situation is bizarre and frustrating, I doff my hat to all parents who’ve had to take on the role of teacher and full time childminder, whilst also working. It’s impressive how much people are juggling.

Mother is celebrating bagging another hole-in-one at golf today. She should go pro at the age of 70+.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.