Old Greybeard

Up first thing to get that boat over to the pontoon and then off to pick up the deckhand. Viewing his shed (work in progress) and his collapsable boat whilst there. 
And then we got ourselves all rigged up. Not without the usual shenanigans - I’d put the furler on back to front and then, no sign of the bottom half of my sail cover which is snucked under the mainsail foot. A mystery. We lashed it all down with a rope and then I delivered him back to a whining Rory.  
Later, the SK came over to finish off the lazy jacks and to assist in taking it back over. From nowhere the sky darkened and darkened and the wind began to strengthen, whistling through the rigging. The poor thing stood on the deck holding various untied ends, teeth a-chatter. Job done, I sent her off to warm up (I did offer to put her down below with that heater on) and the wind just dropped away. But then the rain started coming down. Oh, a sailor’s life...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.