Blipblog

By blipblog

The Conversation - Episode 5

Something's Missing vs. Treegonk

What initially sparked your interested in photography?

I think it started when I was on a 'year out' trip in 1992, when I thought that I should really try to catch some images of the things I saw. So, I bought myself a cheap SLR in Singapore - a little Canon T60. I played about with it and shot about 10 films before the end of my trip. Most of the pics were rubbish, but I got one picture of a market scene in Malaysia that I was quite proud of and I still have it hanging on my wall. Although it's not a masterpiece, seeing people's reactions when they saw that picture gave me a bit of a buzz. I think that's the same buzz you feel when you get some nice comments on a blip.

What would you say is more important - good knowledge or good equipment?

Neither - I think a good eye and trying to get some emotion into your picture is more important than anything. Knowledge and equipment are just the skills and tools of the trade and having both can help inspire your eye to work better, but they don't make the picture.

Which photographers do you look up to and why?

I have never really studied many photographers' work so I'm a bit ignorant photographically. Elliott Erwitt is definitely a favourite though. Any image that can make me laugh, cry or think, is good in my book. (I've got Sea Urchin to thank for my love of Erwitt.)

What genre of photography are you most interested in?

Street photography, candid and humour. It used to be landscapes, nature and naked ladies. I have moved on a wee bit, although I still like all those. I'm constantly amazed by how important images are in this world, even though most people never really realise that they are seeing hundreds of images every day.

What genre of photography do you dislike the most and why?

I don't really dislike any genre, but one thing that really doesn't do it for me is that staged, rule-book landscape photography which all the photo magazines preach. Rocks in the foreground, leading lines, blurry waves, etc. have to admit I use some of those things myself sometimes, but I hate the way these magazines are stuck within the composition rule book.

The obligatory 'ten of your best images' question.

I was dreading and hoping for that question - it changes every time I look back and I notice things wrong with all of them! (sorry almost all B&W)

Old Dogs
It's the only picture I think I have managed anything like an Erwitt. I also loved the way some people didn't notice the second dog. If there weren't two dogs in the window it wouldn't have been a picture. (to me anyway).

Soft Landing
It was a semi-accident.

Luggage Handler
OK, maybe I thought this was also a bit Erwittesque.

Sit
Just cos it's my lovely sis.

Battle of the Tennis Ball
Two of the soppiest dogs looking like ferocious beasts.

Drive-by XII
I knew I loved this wee bloke before I even saw the pic.

Mr Nosey
First pic I ever had published. Not the greatest shot, but it means something to me.

Landing Gear
When I hit the black and white layer, it jumped out at me.

HypnoFinn
First portrait I did that I really liked. (and it's wee Finn who is a dude)

Squabbling Seagulls
I loved the shape they made in the sky.

What is your favourite film?

Midnight Run. Simple little film. It makes me laugh and cry and I love the laid back feeling.

Beer or lager?

Beer in the winter. Lager in the summer. Cider on the beach & Guinness for breakfast. Whisky when your stomach is full of beer.

What are you talking about? I don't drink.

Still smoking, or kicked the habit?

Next question please.

If you had the chance, what celebrity would you like to 'drive-by' photograph and why?

YOU! ...and Angelina Jolie - not at the same time obviously. - I'd be with Angelina, while you photographed us.

Why? - I love wide angles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.