Life Savors

By osuzanna

Dark Clouds over D.C.

Seems apropos, doesn't it?

I joined my husband this morning for an early trip into DC so he could run on the mall and I could walk and get some photos.  It was quite early, but not early enough for great light.  I snapped a few shots but nothing that excited me.  I got some exercise so that was good. 

As I walked around, I found myself getting more and more agitated at the number of people without masks.  Like myself, a fair number of people keep their masks pulled down or in their hand and put them on when they come near someone else.  It was the people who were running and biking that didn't have masks at all and made no effort to distance as they went past while huffing and puffing.   I found myself staying off the paths and staying on the grassy areas where there were fewer people. 

Then I came across the National Park Service signs that mention all the measures for preventing COVID-19 spread, but make no mention of masks. I acknowledge that they were probably printed early on in this pandemic before masks were included in prevention measures and I have seen plenty of National Park Service Rangers wearing masks but I also know that this administration will not advocate masks under any circumstance and I find that despicable. 

The day was sunny, without a cloud in the very blue sky.  Using my newly acquired knowledge of how to change a sky in Photoshop, I decided to have the picture match my mood. 

Don't look too closely. The sunny shadows on the front are a little incongruous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.