Scribbler

By scribbler

Rhinoceros

I started an abstract drawing, just playing with shape and color.
It turned into a rhinoceros! Or at least an imaginary image of one. 
That reminded me of Eugene Ionesco's play "Rhinoceros," which I saw many years ago in New York. 

From a SparkNotes summary of the play:

The "epidemic" of the rhinoceroses serves as a convenient allegory for the mass uprising of Nazism and fascism before and during World War II. Ionesco's main reason for writing Rhinoceros is not simply to criticize the horrors of Nazis, but to explore the mentality of those who so easily succumbed to Nazism. 

So why did my initially pretty drawing turn into this beast? 
I suspect because our Orange Commander is beginning to look more and more like an Austrian housepainter with a brushy little moustache.

I fear for my country.

-------------------------------

NOTE TO BLIPFRIENDS (July 12)

I have filed for an income tax extension after realizing that I will not be ready to file by July 15. Many other chores await. 
Please forgive my absences from your lovely blipjournals, and my failure to reply to your comments. 
Doin' the best I can. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.