Scribbler

By scribbler

Waiting to be smogged

According to the DEQ (Dept. of Environmental Quality), later afternoon midweek is the least busy time to get your car's emissions checked. But I didn't want to get stuck in rush hour traffic back to downtown Portland, so I took a chance on mid-morning. The wait was about an hour, and the test took about five minutes.  Meanwhile I was staring at the back of this truck through my dirty windshield. 

My journal was in my lap, awaiting the first entry in weeks, but somehow I kept getting interrupted or distracted and all I managed was to write the date.

My twenty--year-old Honda Accord passed with flying colors.  Maybe I should keep it another few years!

Next on the list is driver license renewal. It never rains but it pours. Needs to be done by July, but the earliest appointment I could get is September. The governor has told law enforcement to be lenient with us in Virus Time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.