pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Take a Break

"Where we can stay (we can all go stay with our father)
If you take your time (look around, look around at how lucky we are to be alive right now)"


It's been a rather splendid day. A lazy start, followed by an amble into town to let the children spend some pocket money sent to them by their grandparents and then some lunch in front of a little bit of Hamilton as requested by The Youngest (she loves Jonathan Groff as George III). 

I was putting some washing out in the afternoon sun and thinking the children were occupying themselves, sat on the bench for a few minutes, enjoying the warmth on my face and a temporary silence in my noisy mind. I could easily have drifted off, but before getting the chance an elongated "Daddy...." filtered into the quiet and The Youngest stood before me grinning and requesting to "make a cake with eggs if we have them or if not, mud".

She ended up making a miniature garden with a little pond and flowers picked from the shared alley behind the house. How many times must I remind myself that the greatest gift you can ever give your children is your time?! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.