If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Marmalade Hoverfly ( Episyrphus balteatus )

As regular readers (assuming there are any) will have realised I have been very shaken by the situation with pollinators.   They say one third of all our food relies on pollinators.   Personally I suspect more, other than cereals and meat I have difficulty thinking of foods which don't need pollinated.

The webinars I have watched and the work of Prof Dave Goulson points out that even the correct flowers in a window box help a little.  With this in mind I have been wandering our garden and at the Lodge "seeing what we have" and keeping my eye out for pollinators to record.

When I was in our "woodland garden" this male hoverfly was very conveniently hovering in the shafts of sunlight.  This made it slightly easier to photograph as it staid in a fairly small area.   Hoverflies are good pollinators, so it was a welcome sight.   I have this tentatively identified as a male Marmalade Hoverfly.   If you know better please tell me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.