Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

New Zealand: Land of Sheep and Hills

Well, it's Waitangi Day, so I guess can go all stereotypical for one day, right?

Been a busy day around the lifesentence Lifestyle block today, with a bit of animal husbandry, plumbing and camera kit repair all for good measure.

First, after the weekends chick arrivals (11 to our hen Petunia) we've had another sad loss. Monday morning saw one of the young'uns dead in the cage (I suspect a runt) and today I found another smaller chick gasping its last in the 'maternity wing' enclosure. I tried to do a bit of figurative mouth to beak, but alas the poor thing expired in my hand. I know it sounds a bit callous, but I suspect it was a rooster, so my grief was somewhat muted but even so its sad to lose another.

On the second of my chores I installed a hand-me-down Asko dishwasher from Ma and Pa. It seems to be going well and is a lot quieter than the previous one we had and it washes quicker too - which is good when you live in a very open plan house.

Lastly (but actually my first job today) I disassembled the front element off an old Sigma 75-300 APO zoom lens that came with an old film camera that I bought some time ago. It's always had a crazing of fungus on the inside of the front, so today - knowing that I risked junking it but at the same time knowing that it was nothing ventured, nothing gained - I sucked my teeth and went for it. Well surprise surprise there's life in the old dog yet. Stopped down at either end (but more required on the long end) the old girl has got some good sharpness to give, and not bad colour rendition too (which from my previous Sigma experience was always a challenge).

So to prove Siggy's abilities I thought a nice sheep and hill shot from just inside the front gate would be quite nice for the National Day. I'm almost reaching for the mint sauce...

I might get back to the tree from the last couple of days tomorrow.... watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.