Together!

Man and machine work together to make alterations to the office building in Blenheim Place.

I happened to be passing when I noticed this machine was about to take a chunk out of this office block, formerly used by an oil company. Moving quickly I managed to get this shot as it removed an iron girder which used be part of the entrance to the offices. I assume these works mean the building has been let.

The mouth of the machine lifted the girder out of the building. I could not include the man operating the machine as he was largely hidden by a fence around the building.

Although the original image was in colour, it was largely devoid of colour, so I thought I should include it for Mono Monday. I didn't know the theme, which turns out to have been "Together". Well here man and machine are obviously working together in perfect harmony to achieve the desired goal.

Having removed the girder the machine was allowed to take a rest, and the engine turned off, so there was no subsequent activity visible from my side of the fence.

Not sure why the "grand" portico entrance is no longer required.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.