earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

The Calm after the Storm

A day that included watching a bit of Forrest playing cricket in a friendly game against Ilkley, the most summery day we've had for a few weeks and as well-attended a game as I've seen in a long while. The spectators may even have out-numbered the players. That doesn't often happen in grassroots cricket. A half-season is now planned for the league, starting next Saturday. As captain of the first team this year, Forrest is just beginning to realise how much off-the-field effort is involved.

Sport has returned and it feels strange to be suddenly confronted with options, having to switch between the F1, the football and the test match. I love it when it's available but I can't honestly say that I've missed it. I'm still trying to get my head around that.
 
It feels like things are getting back to normal - except for the fact that Leeds didn't drop any points in their vital game against Swansea today.. There is always this expectation that they will ratchet up the anxiety levels for their supporters as much as possible, not that the game itself didn't foster a good deal of anxiety. In a harrowingly tense affair, Leeds finally grabbed a winner with just a couple of minutes left in the game. Pablo Hernández is a god. Marcelo Bielsa is a god. I'm coming around to Roam's football theology too. 

Roam's stress levels dropped by 1000% once that goal was scored. I caught this moment just after the final whistle was blown. It's the moment he began to believe that promotion back to the Premiership could be a reality. It's been 16 long seasons since they were relegated. My lad has stuck with them through thick and thin - mostly very thin. Why does it matter so much? I will never fully understand. Neither will he, I'm sure. It is what it is and it's never going to change. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.