Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

Westminster Chimes

My grandparents always had a Westminster Chime mantel clock. Growing up through my childhood whenever we visited them, that clock would chime.

Funny how sounds and smells for that matter, get stuck in our memories in deep places. Hearing those chimes always take me back.

When I met Lauralea I discovered that she had a similar sort of relationship with Westminster chimes and grandparents. As we grew together it was always one of our sort of dream purchases. We always wanted to have our own Westminster chime mantel clock.

Those were dreams for so many years when our limited money was needed elsewhere. We mostly let it just be for the time.

Then the kids left home and we eventually caught up with the money.

Last year I was walking past some shops and saw one on display that was on sale. It was a good one too. We’d looked at cheap ones through the years but here was a real one that we could afford. Yes it cost a bit, but we could get it if we wanted to.

Jump ahead a few days and we decided to get it. Now it sits on our bookshelf and chimes every fifteen minutes.

And many times when it does that, I think of grandma and grandpa and how they loved me.

And it’s good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.