The DMMU pulls into Tenterden Town

First turn back on the Kent and East Sussex Railway as we continued preparations to re-open with a limited one train two round trip service by steam on Saturday, weekends only in the first instance.

Here, the DMMU returns up the bank to Tenterden having done a proving trip to Bodiam to affirm the competency of the driver.

I had my own competency check by a signalling inspector while the train was in its journey. So now I’m approved to continue working the boxes and gates on the railway in a post COVID world.

Nice to be back. After the inspector had gone I spent some time with the Brasso polishing up all the indicators and repeaters, scoured the signal levers and washed the box floor so it looks a little smarter following the long layoff.

My next turn is as a crossing keeper at Wittersham Road on Sunday. The signalbox is not open owing to only one train in steam. I’m there simply to work the gates to save the train crew having to stop and do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.