A Day In The Life

By Irish59

In a Pickle?

We have a thunderstorm brewing outside. The wind has started and there’s distant thunder. Soon the rain will begin. Thankfully we will not experience the hail that many of our NH and ME neighbors received. So many plants damaged • We have several small cucumbers growing on the vine. What shall we do with them? If you’re a pickle person, do you prefer dill or sweet? I’m a dill girl but I will make one exception, my maternal grandmother’s bread and butter pickle recipe. We did can a bunch years ago and they were yummy. Not like the ones bought in the supermarket • Cukes can be added to a garden or cold summer salad. My mother liked hers marinated in vinegar and onions with salt and pepper. No thanks • My paternal grandmother made a cold salad with salt, milk and onions and claimed it was a German recipe. Of course it was never written down. I remember it being salty and crispy. Yes, please • Feel free to pass on any ideas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.