Cinnabar Moth Caterpillar

On the off chance, I checked the NT Website a few days ago to see if I could get a ticket for one of the local sites.  To my delight there was 1 ticket available for today for Winkworth Arboretum at opening time, so I grabbed it.

Arriving just after the site opened, I made my way to the tea room to buy a coffee and cake - if you ignored the "social distancing" arrangements in place it was almost like normal, and very welcome.

Afterwards I took a leisurely stroll round most of the arboretum enjoying the peace and calm.  There were masses of butterflies flitting around, but my eye was drawn to these striking black and yellow caterpillars swarming over yellow ragwort.  They grow up into the similarly striking black with red spots Cinnibar Moth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.