NEOWISE

An early start to the day left me feeling pretty tired, and as a consequence I really didn't get much done, particularly as it was grey and dull yet again. Just as I was about to go to bed I noticed that the sky had cleared, so, against my better judgement, I went out comet hunting again. I'd spent a bit of time checking locations, and decided that a gateway just north of Marholm should provide a good view of the northern horizon.

As I drove out I could see that there was cloud in the north yet again, and I nearly turned back. But my destination was quite close so I decided to give it a shot. I spent some time searching  among the cloud in vain, and was about to leave when I caught a glimpse of NEOWISE out of the corner of my eye, significantly higher in the sky than I'd expected. 

I'd only brought the 100-400 lens, which proved quite unwieldy to manipulate in the dark with a tripod, but eventually I managed to get myself organised to take some shots. Unfortunately, focussing on infinity didn't give me sharp stars, and I couldn't really see this until I got home, but at least it's a record of the experience. If the skies clear again in the next few days I might have another go with a different lens.

I'd forgotten how much I love being in the countryside at night. It was so still and quiet, apart from a bat flying low over my head, and tawny owls calling from the adjacent woodland. And while I was there I revelled in all the other stars and planets - Jupiter and Saturn are looking amazing just now, and I could see four of Jupiter's moons through the binoculars. I had a smile on my face all the way home, having finally achieved my ambition of seeing a comet. 

Noctilucent clouds and the Northern Lights are the next things on my wish list... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.