Rodents rule

By squirk

Juno the hero

This cat has been out all night, goodness knows where. However, he's forgiven. One of my neighbours rang this morning because her daughter wanted me to give Juno extra treats as a reward for helping their cat. Mimi the cat and Juno aren't the best of friends but Juno does pop into Mimi's house a fair bit so he knows where she lives. At 10.30 last night, Juno was being particularly vocal at my neighbour's back door, which was unusual. The neighbour and her kids went out to find Mimi as she comes in for the night, but she wasn't to be seen. They gave up and went in but Juno kept on yowling. They came out again and this time found Mimi trapped motionless under a gate. A few upset kids and the dad with a drill to take off the gate later, they managed to release Mimi and take her to the vet. Mimi's OK but is on anti-inflammatories as she hurt herself in the struggle to be free – poor thing. My neighbour said that if it wasn't for Juno, they wouldn't have searched so thoroughly for Mimi. Juno deserves his extra treats.

Now when Juno yowls I'm going to ask him if he's telling me that there's a boy trapped in a well/disused mine shaft in the manner of Lassie

In other news, when I was late dishing out the monkey nuts at the feeder, a squirrel trashed my tray of seedlings. Gah! That'll teach me.

After the busyness of the day, the local walk took me through Norwood Park, up to Crystal Palace and back through Kingswood House [see extra] where there's a blue plaque for John Lawson Johnston, the inventor of Bovril, who owned and lived at the house. It's now surrounded by the Kingswood Estate. 

Mum beat me by two points in the quiz. Grrr. She had help from Rory, but that doesn't forgive that I forgot the name of Nelson's flagship at the Battle of Trafalgar. Good grief.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.