Rodents rule

By squirk

Walking for The Black Curriculum

Each year one of the companies I work for encourages us to walk for charity. This year we're supporting The Black Curriculum, which aims to teach black history to young people as it's not part of the current curricula in schools.

In normal years, many of us would walk together, but this is not a normal year. So, I gathered two colleagues who live near me and we walked from West Norwood to Dulwich Park, up through Sydenham Woods to Crystal Palace and back to West Norwood via the recently opened Volcano Coffee. It's a walk that I've done several times during lockdown but it was new to my friends. I'm glad I was able to show off some of the knowledge I've acquired about the local area, from Pissarro's paintings and bat caves to Logie Baird's house and the old wooden tram stop. I even spotted a baby parakeet for them, although it was so camouflaged that only taking a bad picture helped them to see it [in the extra]. Altogether, the walk was around 6 miles.

I've worked a little, put in a bit of volunteer time with the Feast market plans, and dug out some more of the pond. I've still not found treasure but I have hit a layer of West Norwood clay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.