Finished last night

Eight days ago I was given a kindle. I've tended to be a paper book person; not too unlike being a cat person rather than a dog person. I know its possible to be both. During lockdown, I began to read some e-books using the kindle app on my iPad. My iPad is also where I keep the journal articles I intend to read, and if there is something in them that I might want to refer to again or recommend to a trainee, I file them permanently. Takes up a lot less space then the filing cabinet drawer full which used to be my storage.

Even though I am used to reading on the iPad, I have to acknowledge that it can get heavy when reading for a long time, especially at night. The Kindle is lighter than most paper books. At this stage I am not looking to buy more books to read, as I have full access to the very large "library" S has accumulated.

Today, I have been sitting in my study participating in telephone or zoom meetings and dealing with emails all day long (a work from home day). Young L came to visit, and to help S cook a very nice lunch. S is making excellent progress now that all the side effects have faded, even though she has caught my lurgi. A day or two ago she was sitting cross-legged on the chaise, which is such a usual thing I nearly didn't notice.

Not being able to be outside during the daylight hours, I decided to blip the last book I have read on the new device. This is the third in a series of spy stories which are well written, and mix humour with the tension. There are not many really nice characters, most are flawed to a greater or lesser extent. Makes it seem more true to reality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.