After the storm

Woke this morning to the noise of the wind and rain. The wind has broken branches and twigs off the pohutukawa trees, and scattered them over the decks. No damage, fortunately. By mid afternoon the rain stopped and the wind dropped, so I headed out for a run on the sand.

At Southend I was greeted by a baker's dozen of Tuturiwhatu (dotterels). I've not seen so many all together, and certainly not at this end of Snell's Beach. They ran about, doused themselves with water, and generally ignored (seemingly) my presence. Even though one of the Poaka was constantly shrieking the alarm; perhaps it wasn't a real alarm as none of the Poaka paid any attention. Nor did the gulls.

I went around the point onto Fidelis Beach, and just over halfway along I saw a Matuku moana; the Reef heron which is rated as threatened. As is usual, it was on its own, and keen to avoid me. I was fortunate to get close enough for a halfway decent photo in the fading light, as the rain returned.

Although it looks black in my photo (and to my eyes) it is actually rather more dark blue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.