If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Smooth Newt (Lissotriton vulgaris)

Not being the earliest of risers by the time Clickychick had done her run and I had had my bit of cycling it was getting on towards lunch time.  Latter on the afternoon we pottered about doing various housekeeping jobs while waiting for the supermarket delivery.

In the early evening we were in the garden and I lifted a piece of joist to weight down a tarp.  Then I shouted to CC "get your camera quick!"  Being sensible she realised that I had found a photo opportunity of some sort. Apart from a bit of a wriggle when exposed to the light it laid still.   I think it was a case of I will pretend I am not here.  After CC had got some shots it clearly wasn't going anywhere, so I went for my camera.

I am almost sure this is a Smooth Newt, the smallest of the UK species.  One reason is that the habitat for late spring and summer (after breeding) includes "under rocks and logs".  If anyone knows that it isn't a newt please tell me.  It is more years than I care to think since I last saw many newts and I wasn't going to move it to examine the underside.  It is now safely back under it piece of wood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.