Found It!

Found comet Neowise, yippee! A bit of a muddy shot, and a sky full of smoke and fog and light pollution, but there it is, just where my phone app said it would be. It was very faint to the naked eye - so much so I was about to go home before I decided to try a shot in the right direction and see what I got, and there it was.
You know how some days there's barely anything to shoot, and then there's too much? Today I was also treated to a fabulous grass fire over in the East Bay, as well as people walking along the sawtooth wall away from it, like a scene from some dystopian movie (extras).  After that I walked about 20 minutes along the levee to where I figured it would be nice and dark, and waited hopefully for the comet. But it took a long time to get really dark, and there were shrikes shrieking all around me (possibly not shrikes, but it sounds good anyway) and I lost my nerve hanging out all alone in the darkness - the shot of the comet was after I'd walked all the way back by my car. But at least I know where to find it now, and that it doesn't get really dark until a lot later than I thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.