simisue

By simisue

SILLY SATURDAY: MEATHEAD MOVERS

The present is so terrifying here in the US, because of
 raging COVID-19 & because our federal government is so corrupt, cruel
& feckless.  The future has a glimmer of hope, but is unsure. 
Maybe that is why I am often venturing to past memories to keep me sane.

That is where this moving truck comes into play.  I saw it during 1 of my few outings & was immediately amused, because this is 1 of the few moving companies we have not used in all our years of changing houses.

We are in our 9th house, & have lived in 7 states, so I have been
very well acquainted with moving companies.  Movers can make the process bearable or beyond miserable, & we have had it both ways.  Early on, i learned the wisdom of giving a little speech about the importance of working together, providing a delicious lunch & giving good tips at the end.
Usually it worked, but not always.

Once we had a mover with no teeth, who made me cry on moving day, & I still have nightmares about him. Another time we had a Mexican immigrant who leased his truck, & who only had a 100 pound young women to help move heavy furniture & appliances down several flights of stairs.  Some movers complained bitterly about everything, but they were jovial.  

Why, you might wonder, would our children all go to 2 different high schools, & why would we live in 3 states 2 different times. The reason is,
my husband was willing to move to follow a good job.  Each job was
a promotion & he was never out of work during his whole career.  There was a price to pay, of course; & I often envy friends who have lived in 
1 place their whole lives; but we have seen a good part of the US close up, & know where all the good places are.

This small nest of a house with a little yard, that we have now, should be our last. While we live here, I can look back at all the memories we made in
Ohio, Illinois, Minnesota, Arizona, Oregon, Michigan, & now in California,
instead of worrying about the Cover-19 surge or the next horrible thing our president does.  

I hope all our past hard working movers have their feet up drinking something cold, as I write this.  And I hope the MEATHEAD MOVERS
have lots of work during these dire times. 

And finally: I hope, soon,  the present & future will be hopeful & optimistic.
I can then feel free to focus there, instead of on the past.
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.