KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Gorgeous Day!

Wow, one of the most stunning of summer days so far! As is often the case, the morning started out quite cool - mid 50's F (13 C) and gradually warmed up - now 83 F (28 C). 

I think the best news of the day is that my washing machine, which has been going downhill since we bought it a year ago...was FINALLY fixed this morning! It had gotten so bad that it would not spin the loads so everything was sopping wet. Picture me and Mr. K outside wringing out sheets by hand...not a pretty sight :-)  We've done three loads already this afternoon and I feel like my life has gotten 10 times easier.

Sadly I didn't have much time to get outside today since I've been working on my classes, but I am going to play a few practice holes of golf shortly. Then we're having a dear friend come for an outdoor, socially distant dinner tonight. Super fun.

This morning I wandered out to the garden early - the sun had just caught this dahlia so I snapped it with my iPhone. I ran back in the house for my camera and just minutes later the sun had moved on. My neighbor gave me this dahlia last fall - she didn't like it and of course I'm a sucker for a dahlia....it was supposed to be apricot. But I think this is just stunning!

More good news, my mom will be going "home" to her cottage in the retirement community from respite care this week (she's in the same community, although assisted living right now). I'm not sure it will be easier, but she'll be a lot happier.

Hope you are all having marvelous weekends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.