KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

The Back Garden

Gosh it was hot today! Close to 90 F (32 C). I spent a couple of lovely hours out in the garden this morning - very overdue. This afternoon I caught up with a dear friend by phone and finished up the work for my class this upcoming week. We're studying perennial ground covers, most of which I wouldn't recommend planting. But those are good plants to know!

I thought you might like to see a peek at my back garden and even a corner of my house. My potting shed is in the back righthand corner. It featured in my April 1st blip. Looking back the garden looks so empty!

I planted this garden a year ago March. It had been a series of raised vegetable beds which I found unattractive in the winter and they seemed to always be asking for attention. I miss the fresh veggies, but I don't miss the constant work. I'm happy with this garden for the most part - still learning its tiny microclimates and the changing light during the seasons. But it's fascinating - there's always some plant doing something interesting. I'm about to put in a bulb order for the fall - I really want to plant a whole bunch of big purple alliums!

Hope you all had a lovely weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.