KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Small Corner of the Garden

I had a busy morning - most importantly I did a video chat with my grandchildren and we made a worm farm! It was very successful all around and what a joy to see them! Odette, the 6 1/2 year-old, has learned how to give virtual hugs by wrapping her arms around herself. So we did a lot of that. Gosh I miss them, as I'm sure you do yours if you're lucky enough to have some!

Another meeting about the botanical garden - big news on that in the near future (just to distract you from the present world circumstances). 

I did manage a walk in the rain this morning...I walked faster than usual :-)

Finally the sun came out in the late afternoon and I had fun wandering around the garden with my camera. I hemmed and hawed and finally decided to share a small corner of my backyard garden with you....not that it's a great shot, nor a beautiful garden at this point, but I realize how much I enjoy seeing shots of where you all live, and play, and work so thought it was my turn to share a bit of my life.

So this is my potting shed, with a Coral Bark Maple in front of it. The big urn was given to me by dear friends in Massachusetts...it's the only ridiculously heavy thing that I brought with me when I moved to Portland. Its twin sits in their lake house in NH where I spent many lovely times. The Red Flowering Currant is on the left and various perennials are popping up. 

I looked critically at this photo and thought that I should have straighted up the stuff on the table on the porch, and made the round trellis sit perfectly straight. Oh well, these are the things that make a garden livable, yes?

Be well dear Blippers - I hope you've had a good day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.