Carnivore

As well as the roses in the garden, which seem perfectly capable of thriving without me, I have a small rose in a pot which is a phenomenal breeding ground for aphids. It lives on the outside table where I sit for a rest so as I'm 'doing nothing' I frequently pick the aphids off by hand. Today I found a helper at the end of the garden and carried it to the rose. I was fascinated watching its progress round the edges of a leaf, its step onto the next leaf, round the edges of that one, down the stem, round the edges again, and its occasional foray into the middle. It was eating things I could not see - I'll be very interested to see how many aphids the plant is home to tomorrow.

Apart from that distraction, Tivoli and I broke the shed roof into manageable pieces and took it to the dump. We also had an exhilarating time smashing many, many panes of broken glass, left by my predecessors, into smaller pieces so we could dump them too. It's a long time since I smashed a piece of glass with a hammer and on that occasion I was fined 25 weeks' pocket money. I still hold that my brother, who locked me out, owes me 12.5 weeks' of his income - especially since when he did the same to our younger brother, with the same outcome, the pair of them were fined equally - but I guess he's made it up to me in other ways since.

Extra - the lovely Tivoli out on a 'walk' with her niece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.