I took Daughter to see The Reason I Jump this evening. Such a good film. There was lots and lots for us to talk about afterwards, not least in terms of varieties of communication, but I was especially excited by the visuals - so many were images I could have taken.

"So how do people with autism see the world, exactly? We, only we, can ever know the answer to that one! Sometimes I actually pity you for not being able to see the beauty of the world in the same way we do. Really, our vision of the world can be incredible, just incredible... When you see an object, it seems that you see it as an entire thing first, and only afterwards do its details follow on... But for people with autism*, the details jump straight out at us first of all, and then only gradually, detail by detail, does the whole image sort of float up into focus."

*Actually the film was about only one group of autistic people - those without speech. I don't know whether Naoki Higashida, the author of the book on which the film is based, can really generalise about all autistic people from his experience.

After a dull, uninspired, uninspiring photo time for me recently I was invigorated. I went on a camera spree as we came out of the cinema - helped by the late dusk light and the summer warmth. I was even bold enough to ask someone's permission to take her photo - for the first time in years. She was fine about it but I didn't ask permission to put it online so it's not here.

I've selected ruthlessly from the pictures I took (some I will try to repeat) but see also extra and this

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.