Boomerang

By Boomerang

Skeletal remains

I was tidying the wee flower border beside the pond this afternoon when I spied what I thought was a giant insect clinging to a primula leaf. I dashed into the house to get my camera, quite sure that it would have disappeared before I got back. But no, it was still there so, in my excitement, fumbling with the settings, I eventually managed to get focussed and snapped the creature. However, as I zoomed in, I realised that time had already caught up with it and it was just a shell of its former self!
Husband thinks that this had probably been living in our pond as a larva until it was ready to emerge onto land and metamorphose into a beautiful dragonfly, ready to take to the air.
If there are any experts reading this, we would be happy to be corrected and learn more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.