Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

These days

I tend not to spend more than a tenner on a brand-new garment (unless it's footwear) and no more than three quid on anything second-hand. So this second-hand cardie for thirty-quid in Oxfam yesterday has blown my entire summer holiday budget for travel, accommodation, food, treats, everything.
But I'm an absolute sucker for colours.
And this is Real Pure New Wool, Scottish, with button fastenings up the front which allows me to throw it off faster than you can blink; should I overheat (frequently). Not only that, but just like every garment ever created in any size imaginable, it fits me perfectly, and its subtle colour-scheme means that it co-ordinates with everything else in my wardrobe.
Magic!
But that was yesterday's treat. Today's treat was a car parked across the road from Arachne's house. It looked “wedding” to me despite the car being non-traditional black (not white) and the tissue-paper fragments being non-traditional spectrum (not pastel).
I have had a wonderful week and I was sorry to leave, but sometimes departures are necessary.
Other extras include Oxford “Goodbye” doors and Oxford “Goodbye” knitting.
I am now back in Chatham, reunited with my plants (which have not died) and with an array of invitations to social engagements that would make Princess Beatrice (or the other one)'s head spin.
Nah! On second thoughts it's the Oxford Yarning in first place and the cardie in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.