What a Day

Yesterday I blamed myself for difficulties with the BBQ the day before.  Today I found out the real reason for my problems.
 
Earlier in the week I had loaded our mini incinerator with cuttings from the cherry tree to see how it would burn.  It burnt very well after it had got started, and I was left with a cup full of charcoal, which was a bonus.  On Friday I tried, unsuccessfully, to use some wood to barbi on, and wound up using charcoal as normal.
 
Today I thought that if I started the wood burning in the morning I should have a heap of burning bits to spit roast our Sunday joint.  Absolutely NO WAY did that wood want to burn, even when I put some bits on the burning charcoal it took forever to get going.
 
To add insult to injury, the current bag of charcoal has ideas of its own on burning.  It needs constant draft even after it is going.
 
Nevertheless I finally got the joint roasting with the aid of both mini fans, and had to keep one going throughout cooking.  We had dinner at about half past eight!
 
Looking on the bright side, Mrs W actually found two more bits of her jigsaw to fit - well if you will by one without a picture . . . ??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.